$MG \ X \ MM$

MARCEL GROSSMANN AWARDS

RIO DE JANIERO 2003

ICRA

 $International\ Center\ for\ Relativistic\ Astrophysics$

$MG \ X \ MM$

MARCEL GROSSMANN AWARDS

RIO DE JANIERO 2003

and

TEST

ICRA

 $International\ Center\ for\ Relativistic\ Astrophysics$

10th Marcel Grossmann Meeting July 2003, Rio de Janiero

Institutional Award

CBPF (Brazilian Center for Research in Physics)

for its role as a teaching and research institution and as a place originating fundamental physics ideas in the exploration of the universe

—presented to its founders Cesar Lattes, José Leite Lopez and Jayme Tiomno

Individual Awards

YVONNE CHOQUET-BRUHAT

and

JAMES W. YORK, JR.

for separate as well as joint work in establishing the mathematical framework for proving the existence and uniqueness of solutions to Einstein's gravitational field equations.

YUVAL NE'EMAN

for his contributions to science, epistimology, mathematics and physics from subnuclear to space sciences.

Each recipient is presented with a silver casting of the TEST sculpture by the artist A. Pierelli. The original casting was presented to His Holiness Pope John Paul II on the first occasion of the Marcel Grossmann Awards.

From the CBPF archives: Cesar Lattes at Chacaltaya Cosmic Physics Laboratory, Feynmann in Rio.

9th Marcel Grossmann Meeting July 2000, Rome

Institutional Award

SOLVAY INSTITUTES

for identifying and recording in discussions by the protagonists the crucial developments of physics and astrophysics in the twentieth century

—presented to Jacques Solvay.

Individual Awards

CECILLE AND BRYCE DEWITT

for promoting General Relativity and Mathematics research and inventing the "summer school" concept.

RICCARDO GIACCONI

for opening, five successive times, new highways for exploring the Universe.

ROGER PENROSE

for extending the mathematical and geometrical foundations of General Relativity.

8th Marcel Grossmann Meeting June 1997, Jerusalem

Institutional Award

Hebrew University

for its role as a cradle of Science and Humanities and for hosting the manuscripts of Albert Einstein.

— presented to M. Magidor, President of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Individual Awards

TULLIO REGGE

for his contributions to the interface between mathematics and physics leading to new fields of research of paramount importance in relativisic astrophysics and particle physics.

FRANCIS EVERITT

for leading the development of extremely precise space experiments utilizing superconducting technology to test General Relativity and the Equivalence Principle.

Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat and James W. York, Jr.

7th Marcel Grossmann Meeting June 1994, Stanford, USA

Institutional Award

Space Telescope Science Institute

for its critical role in the direction and operation of the Hubble Space Telescope, a truly unique international laboratory for the investigation and testing of general relativity in the context of modern astrophysics and cosmology.

— presented to Peter Stockman

Individual Awards

SUBRAHMANYAN CHANDRASEKHAR

for his contributions to the analysis of gravitational phenomena from Newton to Einstein and especially for leading the way to relativistic astrophysics with the concept of critical mass for gravitational collapse.

JIM WILSON

for having built on his experience in nuclear physics, thermonuclear reactions, and extensive numerical simulation to create a new testing ground for the novel concepts of relativistic astrophysics.

6th Marcel Grossmann Meeting June 1991, Kyoto, Japan

Institutional Award

RITP

for keeping alive first in Hiroshima and them in Kyoto research in relativity, cosmology, and relativistic field theory and the development of a school of international acclaim — presented to Professor K. Tomita.

Individual Awards

MINORU ODA

for participating in the pioneering work of the early sixties in X-ray astronomy and for his subsequent molding of an agile and diversified Japanese scientific space program investigating the deepest aspects of relativistic astrophysics.

STEPHEN HAWKING

for his contributions to the understanding of spacetime singularities and of the large scale structure of the Universe and of its quantum origins.

5th Marcel Grossmann Meeting August 1988, Perth, Australia

Institutional Award

THE UNIVERSITY OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

for its contributions to relativistic astrophysics — presented to the Vice Chancellor, Professor Robert Smith.

Individual Awards

SATIO HAYAKAWA

for his contributions to research in gamma, X-ray and infrared radiation as well as cosmic rays.

JOHN ARCHIBALD WHEELER

for his contributions to geometrodynamics and Einstein's visions.

4th Marcel Grossmann Meeting 1985, Rome, Italy

Institutional Award

THE VATICAN OBSERVATORY

for its contributions to the origin and development of astrophysics — presented to His Holiness Pope John Paul II.

Individual Awards

WILLIAM FAIRBANK

for his work in gravitation and low temperature physics.

ABDUS SALAM

for his work in unifying fundamental interactions.

